Catholic Prayers for Morning, Noon and Night

Another topic at last night’s RCIA meeting was prayer, and they handed out a sweet little booklet of Catholic prayers that I thought I’d put up here as a reference, so I can access them when I’m away from home, because I really love these prayers… 🙂

Catholic Prayers for Morning, Noon and Night

Morning Prayers

Morning Offering

O Jesus, through the Immaculate Heart of Mary, I offer you my prayers, works, joys and sufferings of this day, in union with the Holy Sacrifice of the Mass throughout the world. I offer them for all the intentions of your Sacred Heart: the salvation of souls, in reparation for sin, and the reunion of all Christians. I offer them for all the intentions of the Holy Father, our bishops, the Apostleship of prayer and in particular for [name your intentions]. Amen.

We give you heartfelt thanks, heavenly Father, for the rest of the past night, and for the gift of a new day with its opportunities of living to your glory. May we so pass its hours in the perfect freedom of your service that when evening comes we may again give thanks, through Jesus Christ our Lord. Amen.

Midday Prayers

O God, grant me a moment to reflect on your gift to me of this day. Help me to see your touch in all that has already happened and to hope you will be with me in all that is still coming my way. For the tasks you have given me and for the strength to face them, I thank you, Lord. For these moments of peace and for the ways you keep me going, whether I am aware of them or not, I give you thanks. Amen.

The Angelus

The angel of the Lord declared unto Mary: And she conceived of the Holy Spirit.

Hail Mary, full of grace, the Lord is with thee. Blessed art thou among women and blessed is the fruit of thy womb, Jesus. Holy Mary, Mother of God, pray for us sinners, now and at the hour of our death. Amen.

Behold the handmaid of the Lord: Be it done to me according to your word.

Hail Mary, full of grace, the Lord is with thee. Blessed art thou among women and blessed is the fruit of thy womb, Jesus. Holy Mary, Mother of God, pray for us sinners, now and at the hour of our death. Amen.

And the Word was made flesh: And dwelt among us.

Hail Mary, full of grace, the Lord is with thee. Blessed art thou among women and blessed is the fruit of thy womb, Jesus. Holy Mary, Mother of God, pray for us sinners, now and at the hour of our death. Amen.

Pray for us, O Holy Mother of God: That we may be made worthy of the promises of Christ.

Let us pray: pour forth we beseech you, O Lord, your grace into our hearts that we to whom the incarnation of Christ, your Son, was made known by the message of an angel, may be brought by his passion and cross to the glory of the resurrection, through the same Christ our Lord. Amen.

Daytime at Nighttime

Evening Prayers

Watch, O Lord, those who wake or watch or weep tonight, and give your angels and saints charge over those who sleep. Tend your sick ones, O Lord Christ. Rest your weary ones, bless your dying ones, soothe your suffering ones, shield your joyous ones, and all for your love’s sake.

St. Augustine

Protect us, Lord, as we stay awake; watch over us as we sleep, that awake we may keep watch with Christ, and asleep, we may rest in his peace.

Liturgy of the Hours

Canticle of Simeon

Now, Master, you may let your servant go in peace, according to your word, for my eyes have seen your salvation, which you have prepared in the sight of all the peoples, a light for revelation to the Gentiles, and the glory of your people Israel.

Luke 2: 29-32

Common Prayers

Before Meals

Bless us, O Lord, and these your gifts which we are about to receive from your bounty, through Christ our Lord.

After Meals

We give you thanks, Almighty God, for all your benefits which we have received from your bounty, through Christ our Lord.

The Lord’s Prayer (traditional)

Our Father, who art in heaven, hallowed by thy name. Thy Kingdom come, thy will be done, on earth as it is in heaven. Give us this day our daily bread, and forgive us our trespasses as we forgive those who trespass against us. And lead us not into temptation, but deliver us from evil. Amen.

The Lord’s Prayer (modern)

Our Father in heaven, holy is your name. Your Kingdom come, your will be done, on earth as it is in heaven. Give us today our daily bread. Forgive us our sins as we forgive those who sin against us. Save us from the time of trial and deliver us from evil. Amen.

Doxology

Glory be to the Father, and to the Son and to the Holy Spirit, as it was in the beginning, is now, and ever shall be, world without end. Amen.

Hail Mary

Hail Mary, full of grace, the Lord is with thee. Blessed art thou among women and blessed is the fruit of thy womb, Jesus. Holy Mary, Mother of God, pray for us sinners, now and at the hour of our death. Amen.

Memorare

Remember, O most gracious Virgin Mary, that never was it known that anyone who fled to thy protection, implored thy help or sought thy intercession was left unaided. Inspired by this confidence I fly unto thee, O Virgin of Virgins, my mother, to thee do I come, before thee I stand, sinful and sorrowful. O mother of the Word Incarnate, despise not my petition, but in thy mercy hear and answer me.

The Apostles’ Creed

I believe in God, the Father Almighty, Creator of heaven and earth; and in Jesus Christ, his only Son, our Lord, who was conceived by the Holy Spirit, born of the Virgin Mary, suffered under Pontius Pilate, was crucified, died and was buried. He descended to the dead, the third day he arose from the dead. He ascended into heaven and sits at the right hand of the Father. From thence he shall come to judge the living and the dead. I believe in the Holy Spirit, the holy Catholic Church, the Communion of Saints, the forgiveness of sins, the resurrection of the body and life everlasting. Amen.

Prayers of the Saints

O tender Father, you gave me more, much more than I ever thought to ask for. I realize that our human desires can never really match what you long to give us.

St. Catherine of Siena

Soul of Christ, sanctify me.

Body of Christ, save me.

Blood of Christ, fill me.

Water from the side of Christ, wash me.

Passion of Christ, strengthen me.

O good Jesus, hear me.

Never let me be parted from you.

From the malicious enemy, defend me.

In the hour of my death, call me and bid me come to you, that with your saints I may praise you forever and ever.

St. Ignatius Loyola

Almighty God, in whom we live and move and have our being, you made us for yourself, so that our hearts are restless until they rest in you; grant us purity of heart and strength of purpose, that no selfish passion may hinder us from knowing your will, no weakness from doing it; but that in your light we may see light clearly, and in your service find our perfect freedom; through Christ our Lord.

St. Augustine

O God, the refuge of the poor, the strength of those who toil, and the Comforter of all who sorrow, we commend to your mercy the unfortunate and needy in whatever land they may be. You alone know the number and extent of their sufferings and trials. Look down, Father of mercies, at those unhappy families suffering from war and slaughter, from hunger and disease, and other severe trials. Spare them, O Lord, for it is truly a time for mercy.

St. Peter Canisius

O God, Creator of humankind, I do not aspire to comprehend you or your creation, nor to understand pain or suffering. I aspire only to relieve the pain and suffering of others, and I trust in doing so, I may understand more clearly your nature, that you are the Father of all humankind, and the hairs of my head are numbered.

St. Francis of Assisi

Prayers of Praise

The Magnificat of Mary

My soul proclaims the greatness of the Lord, and my spirit rejoices in God my Savior,

For he has looked with favor on his lowly handmaid.

For behold, henceforth all generations will call me blessed.

The Almighty has done great things for me, and holy is his Name.

He has mercy on those who fear him in every generation.

He has shown the strength of his arm, he has scattered the proud in their conceit.

He has cast down the mighty from their thrones, and has lifted up the lowly.

He has filled the hungry with good things, and the rich he has sent away empty.

He has come to the help of his servant Israel, for he has remembered his promise of mercy,

The promise he made to our forefathers, to Abraham and his children forever.

Luke 1: 46-55

The Divine Praises

Blessed be God. Blessed be his holy name. Blessed be Jesus Christ, true God and true man. Blessed be the name of Jesus. Blessed be his most Sacred Heart. Blessed be his most Precious Blood. Blessed be Jesus in the most Holy Sacrament of the altar. Blessed be the Holy Spirit, the Paraclete. Blessed be the great Mother of God, Mary most holy. Blessed be her holy and Immaculate Conception. Blessed be her glorious Assumption. Blessed be the name of Mary, Virgin and Mother. Blessed be Saint Joseph, her most chaste spouse. Blessed be God in his angels and in his saints.

Prayers for Special Needs

God of all goodness and love, hear our prayers for the sick members of our community and for all who are in special need at this time. Amid mental and physical suffering, may they find consolation in your healing presence. Show your mercy as you close wounds, cure illness, make broken bodies whole and free downcast spirits. May these special people find lasting health and deliverance, and with them, may we thank you for all your gifts. We ask this through the Lord Jesus who healed those who believed. Amen.

Act of Faith

O my God, I firmly believe that you are one God in three divine Persons, Father, Son and Holy Spirit. I believe that your divine Son became human and died for our sins, and that he will come again to judge the living and the dead. I believe these and all the truths that the holy Catholic Church teaches because you, who cannot deceive nor be deceived, revealed them.

Act of Hope

O my God, relying on your almighty power and infinite mercy and promises, I hope to obtain pardon of my sins, the help of your grace, and life everlasting, through the merits of Jesus Christ, my Lord and Redeemer.

Act of Love

O my God, I love you above all things, with my whole heart and soul, because you are all good and worthy of all my love. I love my neighbor as myself for the love of you. I forgive all who have injured me and ask pardon of all whom I have injured.

Act of Contrition

My God, I am sorry for my sins with all my heart. In choosing to do wrong and failing to do good, I have sinned against you whom I should love above all things. I firmly intend, with your help, to do penance, to sin no more, and to avoid whatever leads me to sin. Our Savior Jesus Christ suffered and died for us. In his name, my God, have mercy.

Peace Prayer

Lord, make me an instrument of your peace.

Where there is hatred, let me sow love;

Where there is injury, pardon;

Where there is doubt, faith;

Where there is despair, hope;

Where there is darkness, light;

And where there is sadness, joy.

Divine Master, grant that I may not so much seek to be consoled as to console;

To be understood as to understand;

To be loved as to love.

For it is in giving that we receive;

It is in pardoning that we are pardoned;

And it is in dying that we are born to eternal life.

St. Francis of Assisi

Leave a Reply

