To Jesus through Mary

“The Blessed Virgin Mary is called the Star of the Sea. Those who sail the ocean seas are guided to the port they seek by carefully observing the stars. In the same way, Christians are guided to heavenly glory by keeping their eyes on Mary.”

~ Saint Thomas Aquinas

My younger sister, Ava, believes in the Goddess, and practices within that religion. My older sister, Alice, is a fundamentalist Protestant. And for 15 years, I was a Buddhist. But we get along great — we’re a motley crew! 😀

When I mentioned to Ava that, although I really love Buddhist meditation, I thought it lacks the idea of a creator, or “God”, she suggested that I should consider worshiping a creator-Goddess. Since I’d always been drawn to Mary, I began praying to her with that kind of image in mind.

Needless to say, she would have none of that. First of all, one can’t even say any of the traditional prayers to her without mentioning Jesus! So, I avoided saying those prayers for a long time, and would just talk to her and look at her pictures that I have.

Nuestra Señora de la Soledad Patrona de Oaxaca

My picture of Nuestra Señora de la Soledad, Patrona de Oaxaca

However, her whole aspect, everything about her, is submission to God. Her fiat (her response to the Angel Gabriel’s Annunciation, “Let it be to me according to thy word”) is the perfect example of a creature doing her Creator’s will. She isn’t an “Earth Mother”, she’s the Mother of God, due to her acceptance of God’s will for her.

Detail from Fra Angelico's The Annunciation

Detail from Fra Angelico’s The Annunciation

“When the Holy Spirit finds Mary in a soul, He flies to it. He enters therein and communicates Himself to that soul with abundance.”

~Saint Louis Grignion de Montfort

Very quickly, within a year of beginning to pray to Mary, I “broke down” and began praying also to Jesus. In my childhood, I’d never really talked about Jesus, and instead always spoke of “God” and loved reading the Old Testament the best, and prayed to God (except for the final lines in a prayer: “In Jesus’ name, Amen.”) But now, Mary led me straight to Jesus. After praying the Rosary every day for about a year, I began to meditate on Jesus and pray to him, and now even pray the Divine Mercy prayers.

Considering how very reluctant I was to go back to the “Jesus stuff” within Christianity (probably due to some high-profile Christians’ hypocrisy and to society’s frowning on Christian evangelization) it really is amazing to me how far I’ve waded back into Christianity! This I attribute all to Mary’s influence…

“When our hands touch spices, they give fragrance to all we encounter. Let us make our prayers pass through the hands of the Blessed Virgin. She will make them fragrant.”

~ Saint John Vianney

7 thoughts on “To Jesus through Mary

  1. This is beautiful. In my pages I have a story regarding our Blessed Mother calling me to the Church. You may find it interesting to read. Will be back to read more and thank you for the follow. God Bless, SR

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Seven Great Blessings of the Rosary | Cariña de María

  3. Mire que gusto encontrar que nuestra reyna y patrona anda por aquellos lugares ,esa imagen asi como la tiene usted es la primera ves que la veo , he visto imagenws o fotos antiguas pero asi no que gusto me dio encontrar su articulo ,bendiciones.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

